Lemon Ricotta Muffins

While I was at Safeway the other week, I noticed that bags of great looking lemons were on sale. Since I think I buy at least two lemons a week anyway (or so it seems), I purchased a bag feeling that roommate Alex and I would easily make our way through it. A few days later, I was reading my cousin’s blog and saw a recipe for lemon ricotta muffins. The recipe seemed easy enough and cousin Cathy’s muffins came out superbly (her words), so I decided to give the muffins a try myself.

If there were an idiot proof muffin recipe, it may be this one. These muffins were ready in a jiffy and I can’t imagine them being any more difficult than making muffins from a boxed mix. On top of that, they were so delicious I think I ate a muffin each time I walked by the kitchen breakfast time or no. I loved the brightness of the muffins due to using both the zest and the juice of the lemon as well as the crunch from the demerara sugar on top. As a bonus, the recipe called for part skim ricotta rather than butter so the muffins are slightly healthier than the average muffin though still moist and crumbly. They taste the best when warm, but you can really eat them at room temperature if you’re too lazy to pop them in the microwave for 30 seconds. As proof of the versatility of these muffins below is a list of the top five times I enjoyed one of these bad boys.

Top 5 Moments I Enjoyed a Lemon Ricotta Muffin
1. Hot out of the oven late in the evening
2. Running out the door on my way to Mass
3. Upon returning to Mass but before lunch
4. After a run
5. Dessert Post Bo Ssam

Lemon Ricotta Muffins (adapted from Cooking Light Magazine)

INGREDIENTS:
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup granulated sugar
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup part-skin ricotta cheese
1/2 cup water
1/4 cup olive oil
1 tablespoon grated lemon rind
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1 large egg, lightly beaten
Cooking spray
2 tablespoons turbinado sugar

DIRECTIONS:
Preheat oven to 375°.

Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flour and next 3 ingredients (through salt); make a well in center.

Combine ricotta and next 5 ingredients (through egg). Add ricotta mixture to flour mixture, stirring just until moist.

Place 12 muffin-cup liners in muffin cups; coat with cooking spray. Divide batter among muffin cups. Sprinkle turbinado sugar over batter. Bake at 375° for 16 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 5 minutes in pan on a wire rack.

3 comments on “Lemon Ricotta Muffins

  1. Gastronomer says:

    These muffins really are something! I made them again recently for a brunch with palz.

  2. Tannia says:

    Maybe Ill try making these after I make pumpkin muffins.. I think I have a problem with Pumpkin muffins by the way..

  3. […] making two batches of lemon ricotta muffins, I was still staring at a bag of lemons I had bought at Safeway firmly believing that roommate Alex […]

Leave a Reply

