Stir Fried Green Beans with Shrimp and Garlic

After an exhausting week at work, I had no desire to cook and no appetite. I just wanted to go home, pour myself a glass of bourbon, drink it, and go to bed. However, with a long run the next morning I knew going to bed with an empty stomach (or a bourbon-filled stomach) would not work out in my favor. I decided on a compromise of a fast and light dinner with the goal of getting something healthy in my stomach quickly so I could hit the hay on the early side.

After some perusing on the interwebs, I settled on making a stir fry with green beans, shrimp, and garlic. The recipe, on foodandwine.com, was provided by Eric and Sophie Banh who also provided the magazine with their lemongrass chicken recipe that I rely on heavily for a quick weekday meal. The Banh siblings know their Vietnamese food and I am happy they provided a handful of delicious and easy recipes to Food and Wine for the general public.

Stir-Fried Green Beans with Shrimp and Garlic (from Food and Wine Magazine)

INGREDIENTS:
1/2 pound green beans, sliced 1/4 inch thick on extreme diagonal
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
3 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 pound shelled and deveined large shrimp, cut into 1-inch pieces
1/4 cup chicken stock
1 tablespoon fish sauce
salt and pepper

DIRECTIONS:

Heat a wok until very hot. Add the vegetable oil and heat until shimmering. Add the garlic and stir-fry for 10 seconds. Add the green beans and 2 tablespoons of stock and stir fry until the beans soften slightly, about 3 minutes.
 Add shrimp, remaining stock, fish sauce, and a generous pinch of pepper. Stir-fry until shrimp is cooked through and the beans are crisp-tender, about three minutes longer. Serve right away.

Leave a Reply

